Not as planned.

When things do not go as planned sometimes it is a real disappointment and frustration and then sometime just sometimes life suprises you and because things didn’t go as planned you are here to tell the tale.

I maybe exagerating a bit but I think if i’d done what I wanted to today i may have been in a real sorry state.  Let me tell the tale.

My original plan for this morning was to get up at the crack of dawn head out to ladybower resevoir for 5-6 hours of instensive MTB riding with lots of climbing and lots of descending [oddly they often g together] But the evil empire that is work life hit me with a broadside requiring my presence at the office at 8am…. bike ride vs work….. damn it!

So following the brief time of penance at the office I sent off but realised I didn’t really have time now to get to derwent, do the ride and get some sleep before work tonight [yes they work me day and night… aww.. your sympathy is appreciated but sleep is for wimps and sunday afternoons] Anyway.

I decided that the best option would be Sherwood Pines. The closest trail centre to us.

Arrival at 11am. Get all gear out of car jump on the steed and off we go….. go back lock car, Off we go!…… go back retrieve phone from car, Off we go!!!

The new XC red route takes you round an almost continuous singletrack twist and turn ride for miles. It is great fun, I’d recommend doing it in bursts as I was just going at it full baw for the full loop and I was cooked by the end. That had been my plan but cooked I was….. someone said it was the hottest day of the year so far and I believe them the car registered 26° C [79° F] and that is warm for old blighty!

I made a couple of errors in my mad run of 7miles of singletrack attack then 15miles of high paced fire road suffering. I put two Noon tablets in my 3 litre camelbak which made it taste horrible and I can not work out wether it was this or the heat that made me feel so sick.

But sick i felt, stomach ache and even after eating and energy bar and sandwiches I still felt rubbish.  I’d push on for a bit feel ok then the cramps would start, nausea and this would come and go for the whole morning.

So I’m wondering what I broke, me? or the mixture? Thoughts and training in the heat suggestions appreciated. Thanks

3 Responses

  1. I have no idea what Noon tablets are but a good hard ride in heat you are not accustomed to could well make you nauseous. You don’t say how long you were out riding or if you started out well hydrated but for a hard effort in hot weather i could easily drink a couple liters in an hour. We have had some hot weather here, up to 95F (35C) and I went through three 24 oz bottles (just over 2 liters) in an hour on my relatively flat 16 mile commute and I wasn’t pushing very hard.

  2. Yet another person who’s never heard of Nuun tablets. (had to google them!)

    I’m afraid in still drinking pure water and eat just flapjacks and banannas while riding.
    (Cakes and bacon sandwiches at the cafe!)

    On really hot days I simply cannot drink enough to stay hydrated. If we ever get this heatwave we’ve been promised then these Nuun tablets might sound like a great idea.

Leave a Reply

