Men In Tights

Tuesday was a good day, I had to take the day off work to look after the kids…. never a bad thing.

Dropped them off at their respective schools and nurseries giving me a couple of hours to kill, went to see some friends and their new baby… very cute. Congrats Kirsty & Brett.

Then I heard the call of the gym, well actually i’d heard the call of the gym most days for the past week but only found the motivation Tuesday. It then occured to me that due to forgetting, being busy, not being bothered and just not going it was a month since either me or Amy went to the gym, damn they make some money off me they do!

Anyway back to the post title, Brett and I agreed to go running together next week for the 1st time and i’m looking forward to it as i rarely get chance to train with anyone it’ll be fun….. or so I thought.

Amy just happened to mention that Brett is really competative…. and runs like a gazelle…. being chased by a cheetah!  not wanting to be embarrassed or slow him down too much I went out for a run that night to test / push / punish myself. I managed 4.6 miles in 45 mins which puts me just on the 10 min mile line which is usually what I manage on my own. My attire for this run was running leggings / tights, breathable t-shirt and running hat [baseball cap with the top missing] To the great amusement of my wife, who so cruelly mocked me in my choice of trousers.

Is it wrong for men to wear tights? I wear my 3/4 cycling ones all the time and now I’m getting fit I think my legs look pretty good so I’m fairly comfortable wearing them, and although the mocking cut me deep….. [just kidding] should men wear tights? Do you think it’s all good or very wrong?

alphainventionwww.s.com

2 Responses

  1. No matter what you do, someone will mock you. I wear tights when I run in cooler weather as well as on the bike. There are some times I feel a bit awkward being Lycra Man like when we stop in the local biker bar after mountain biking. Passing through the gauntlet of hairy, tattooed and leather-clad bikers was a bit odd until I realized they look as silly as I do but we are all wearing what works for what we do.

Leave a Reply

