Aiming for a Tonne!

dsc02095

I am really wanting to do a 100 mile ride. I don’t actually know why other than to see if I can do it.

I’m thinking that it would be a good full day ride on the old singlespeed and i’m getting sort of prepared.

It is pretty much 100 miles from my house to my brother in law’s house in northampton [depending on the route]

I could set off early ride all day and get there for tea…. die for a while and then the family to meet me there for a lift home.

I’m going to see if I can do it during April and then for May my target will be a 10k race.

But for now concentrate on the 100miles.

This week I have done a 21 mile hilly ride in 1 hour 30 mins. So I’m thinking that 100 miles will be about 8 hours riding…… I’m gonna need a lot of food!

Questions

Any one ever done a distance that big in a day?

Any tips?

What should I take and what should I leave at home?

4 Responses

  1. Riding a century gets harder as the distance goes up so I would budget 9 or 10 hours. It looks like you have had some saddle sores so you will NEED some type of chamois creme or plan to stand the last 30 miles.

    I would also recommend you train for it by increasing your distance from 21 miles to around 60 over the course of a month or more depending on how much riding you do. Shorter distances over consecutive days will also help build your endurance.

    I like to have a bottle of water and a bottle of sports drink for every couple hours and would expect to burn in excess of 3000 calories some of which will be replaced by the sports drink. Some folks suffer digestive issues with that much sports drink but you will learn your tolerance during your training rides.

  2. Oh, and have fun!

  3. This is very up-to-date info. I think I’ll share it on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

