Slipping Traffic

I’m really starting to enjoy slipping the traffic during the commute to and from college, now I’m sticking to roads with the Langster I’m much faster and riding much more through and round traffic.

I love the challenges it presents, Sprints to beat the lights and get in front of a car before a junction. I love the fact I slide through the queues focused on what’s ahead dodging the occasional car door or dozy person who changes lane without signalling.

But I love the interaction with the cagers such as last week on the way in I was on a 2 lane section going straight ahead to a bus/bicycle/taxi only lane and a woman over took me – no problem there

She decided then she wanted to be in my lane so she could go left and moved over and kept moving over into me!

I swerved, braked and went round the back of her with about a hair’s breadth between my front tyre and her bumper.

We stop at lights together and she winds down her window and before I can condemn her for nearly killing me she comes out with

Why didn’t you signal?”

Now bear in mind I was in a lane going straight forward and intended to carry on straight forward.

Because I was going straight on, dear

She looks blankly at me.

But you should have signalled

Look sweet heart when a person is going straight they don’t signal,it’s just more confusing for everyone else, tell you what why don’t you just slow down and pay attention next time

[ Note no anger or shouting, surely there’s plus points for being nice the sill person]

She realised I was taking the Mickey and spat

Fuc***g Cyclists!”


So I did what any sensible person would do in this situation. I clipped in, Bent her wing mirror forward [on its hinges – no damage caused] and rode away.

4 Responses

  1. …Bent her wing mirror forward [on its hinges …

    Bad call.

    Now she hates f*cking cyclists even more.

    You’d verbally and logically boxed her into a corner, and she knew it, which explains her knee-jerk response. Best to smile sweetly, wish her a nice day and move on.

    Easier said than done when the adrenaline is flowing, I confess!

  2. “the cagers” – I like that.

    Stupid cagers! That has some ring to it.

    And next time, signal when you are intending to go straight, will you!

  3. Great site this highwaymunky.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

  4. brill site this highwaymunky.wordpress.com rated to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

Leave a Reply

