The Issue

Due to sickness and essential child care duties and taxiing about I’ve been off the bike since Friday.

This has had some interesting effects on me, they are as follows:

Grumpy:

This is a mild word for me stomping round growling like a bear with a hang over, sending children and pets cowering to the corners for fear of the grumpy daddy bear.

Fat:

I’ve immediately felt some podge come back on, this is due to the amount of rubbish eaten due to lack of time to prepare proper meals and there have been several birthdays and lottery wins in the office so it’s been a cake and bun bonanza!

Restless:

I’ve become some what ancie and on edge, desperate to get things done and being very particular about everything! everything annoyed me.

Why is this happening? What is going on?

It is the with drawl symptoms:

I am an addict of cycling.

Mountain biking is my drug and I’ve been missing my fix!

So in the past 24 hours I’ve done:

  1. 3k run
  2. 1.5 hours at the gym weights, running swimming
  3. 15k XC ride into work this morning

Good Lord I feel better, this is a little concerning how badly i reacted to a lack of exercise, I’ve really become so accustomed to cycling and running that with out them I know I am missing something and have a real need for it.

Such an addict!

2 Responses

  1. Please stop writing about my life…
    (heh heh heh)
    I think EVERYONE seems to be in the same predicaments.

  2. Tell me about it! Since starting a new job too far away to cycle (it was either that or stay on benefits) I only get to ride on Saturdays and have put on a stone over the past year.

    And I get grumpy.

    Very grumpy.

Leave a Reply

