Why the bike is better than the car. A theological debate


Update on training progress: Totalled 28 miles yesterday! This is the most I have ridden in a day yet! I felt good this morning getting back on the bike and a steady 8.5 miles route into work was easy and I could feel that I’d gone at it hard yesterday but also I can feel the strength coming back into my legs. Quite pleased with the Total mileage for April at 340! Will definitely be aiming to be beat that in May. I’m off to a good start with 36.5 miles done so far.

To the matter in hand. Yesterday I rode the 13 miles from office to my mothers house. This ride takes me through the town centre out through one of the main roads to the outlying villages.
the 5 miles from the office to the town centre is my usual preferred country roads lined with fields and trees on each side. Then up through town, dodging buses and students galore. By the time I’d reached the LBS I was well into my ride and feeling good, the traffic was building up and In order to make progress and not get killed I was having to switch from road to pavement and back. At the LBS I passed a police car and he did not pass me again until 3 miles (up hill) later up the road. Proof that it can be quicker to ride than drive in towns.

So through traffic bike is faster than car!

My wife doing the journey from home to Mum’s house (same distance as my journey) took 20 minutes longer than my bike ride.
Again Proof that it can be quicker to ride than drive.

Bike is faster than car again.

The majority of drivers looked frustrated and annoyed at the traffic situation and the a cyclist flying past them grinning probably doesn’t help their mood either.

I am happier on my bike than they were in their cars = Bike is better than car.

I arrive relaxed and fitter than when I left. They arrive stressed and probably fatter than when they left.

I am fitter on my bike than they were in their cars = Bike is better than car.

Now this could say something about the state of the traffic management in my town, or the high congestion levels. The endorphins level released by cycling and the general benefits of exercise.

But no all it proves is that I rock on my bike and I am faster than cars!! Get IN!!

2 Responses

  1. Fuel Savings at 14 miles per day.

    Daily Savings: £1.77
    Weekly Savings: £12.35
    Yearly Total: £642.46

    For our American Cousins:
    Daily Savings: $3.50
    Weekly Savings: $24.50
    Yearly Total: $1274.00

  2. Bike trumps car every time. It’s really no contest.

Leave a Reply

